Lazy day hair!

This hair style tutorial is short and sweet. Why? Because it’s so simple to create.

I love this hair style on days when I don’t have a lot of time or am just kicking around.  It’s incredibly simple, fast, and it looks adorable. Just like most of the hairstyles I do there are variations. Twists are an option, leaving your hair down, curling it, or using a sock bun. Any of those would take this hairstyle to the next level if that’s what you want. I’m not showing any of those options as part off my tutorial because I’m aiming for styles that take 25 minutes or less. This one clocks in around 10 minutes total but it gets close to 25 if I have to curl it and while I am  a sock bun master, sometimes that can take a while to perfect.

(Also please enjoy my ridiculous faces during this presentation because my beautiful cat kept trying to be part of it. His name is Ghost and he thinks he is the only thing worth paying attention to)

IMG_0605-1

There is no prep for this hairstyle. You will need bobby pins,  hair elastic (2 small and one normal size), and a barrette (for decoration).

Step 1- Separate a small section of your hair at the front. You’ll want include your bangs if you have them. Smooth hair. If you tend to have fly-aways or frizz you may want to use just a dab of hairspray or styling paste.

IMG_1395

Step 2. Using your fingers separate the section into three even strands. Pull it slightly away from your face and towards the back of your head. Begin braiding the strand. Braid it all the way to the very ends.

IMG_1396

Step 3. Repeat step 2 on the other side. Remember to pull the hair towards the back of your head as you braid.

IMG_1397

Step 4.  Here is where the bobby pins come in.  Pull the braid to the center of the back of your head and secure with a bobby pin. Do the same thing on the other side. Using your barrette, clip the two braids together so they are tight. You can keep or remove the hair elastic depending on how secure you feel the braids are.

IMG_13991  IMG_1399

Step 5. Gather remaining hair into a low bun. You want the bun to rest just below the clip.

IMG_1403    IMG_1407

Step 5.1 – I created a simple bun by gathering my hair into a ponytail and twisting it around to create a bun. As you can see I like my bun a little messy. Obviously though, I am not wearing this anywhere special. (Note the hoodie) If you want a more elegant looking bun check out these options.  A low sock bun, a tightly twisted bun, or this rolled option.  If you try the rolled option I suggest creating the bun before pinning the braids.

Thank you, once again,  for checking out my tutorial I hope it was helpful.

Leave a Reply

