Today, was a day for Purple and Combat boots.

Today I woke up feeling un-motivated and kind of blah. I have a lot of days like that in December. It’s a rough month for me; I’m not a person who starts getting pumped for Christmas in July. It’s cold, it gets dark early, and there is never enough time to get everything done. I probably wouldn’t end up so stressed, un-motivated, and generally lethargic if I planned ahead but it’s not my style. I always make these crazy resolutions at the beginning of the month like: I’ll get all my Christmas shopping done by the 10th, or I’m going to work out every day between now and the end of the year, or my favorite, I’m going to write a post a day and 30 pages of normal writing a week. HA. It never works and it just makes me feel crappier.

So today, I got out of bed around 10:00 AM, I’m usually up by 8:30 – 9:00 AM at the latest, hung around debating the merits of making myself breakfast until nearly 11:00 then came up stairs to try and write my December nail art challenge. Well, that went badly. Around 12:00 I realized I’d been on Facebook and Pinterest for nearly an hour and I decided I needed to get a grip. I left my desk and sat myself down in front of my vanity to turn myself back into the fierce motivated person I know I can be.

Now, I might lose some of you here, but others might know exactly what I’m talking about. Getting properly dressed, doing my hair, and putting on makeup makes me feel good. Nobody get upset, this isn’t tied to shallow behavior or issues with image or self-worth. The fact is that half the time, I wear a ball cap, sweats and sneakers and I still feel awesome and love myself. It is not about conforming to an image of what I think I need to be or putting on a mask. It’s about sitting there and giving myself the time, the attention, and the love. During the week it gives me a routine, a way to wake up and get ready for the day. I’m more organized and better able to do my job when I spend that extra time in the morning focusing on myself and making sure that I give myself the confidence to face the day.

Sometimes I pick out a top and pants that I know will turn heads, sometimes it’s a dress that reminds me of the oldies and a generation of women who were made of steel, gin, and cleaning polish, and sometimes it’s a pair of jeans that fit right and combat boots. The point is that whatever I choose it makes me feel like I can take on the world.

Today, it was the combat boots and purple lipstick.

They made me feel motivated, good, and frankly, like a boss. As you can see from my outfit today, make up, clothes, and hair don’t have to be fancy or sexy, to make you confident. They just need to make you feel like you when you’re having an off day.

I think the lipstick was the kicker, I almost went with my standard red but today I needed a little something extra, and then I wanted to show it off! I felt so motivated that I went out and spoiled my pup (that’s her new Christmas sweater), got myself a very large coffee, and even wrote a nail tutorial.

You can check out the tutorial for week 1 of my December Nail Art Challenge here.

Leave a Reply

